>>> Click Here to return to CollegeInsider.com


About Coach Phelan   |  Selection Committee   |  Award Recipients  |  Contact   |  Home


Feb 20, 2007

The fifteen finalists for the 2007 Jim Phelan national coach of the year award were announced on Tuesday.

Last year’s winner, Ben Howland (UCLA), and this year’s mid-season honoree, Todd Lickliter (Butler) are among the finalists. Among the fifteen are four from mid-major conferences Todd Lickliter (Butler, Horizon), Chris Lowery (Southern Illinois, Missouri Valley), Gregg Marshall (Winthrop, Big South) and Cliff Warren (Jacksonville, Atlantic Sun). Thirteen conferences in total are represented.

The Jim Phelan Award is given annually to the nation’s top coach, as voted on by the 20-member panel. The winner will be presented with the award at the Final Four in Atlanta.

Prior to 2003 the award was known simply as the CollegeInsider.com national coach of the year. It was renamed to honor longtime Mount St. Mary’s head coach Jim Phelan who retired following the 2002-03 season.

Previous winners are Howland (2006), Tubby Smith (Kentucky, 2005), Phil Martelli (St. Joseph’s, 2004) and Mark Slonaker (Mercer, 2003).

Coach School
Jim Baron Rhode Island
Tony Bennett Washington State
John Calipari Memphis
Billy Donovan Florida
Mark Fox Nevada
Billy Gillispie Texas A&M
Seth Greenberg Virginia Tech
Ben Howland UCLA
Todd Lickliter Butler
Chris Lowery Southern Illinois
Gregg Marshall Winthrop
Thad Matta Ohio State
Bo Ryan Wisconsin
Kevin Stallings Vanderbilt
Cliff Warren Jacksonville

  >>> Butler's Todd Lickliter earns mid-season honors


JimPhelanAward.com. All Rights Reserved. CollegeInsider.com. 2005