About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2018 Jim Phelan Award

April 2, 2018


SAN ANTONIO, TX -- Ohio State’s Chris Holtmann is the recipient of the 2018 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award. 
Holtmann inherited a team that finished 11th in the Big Ten last season and was picked to finish near the bottom of the league again in 2017-18. Instead the Buckeyes finished the (25-9) and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament.
“Chris Holtmann has enjoyed success at every stop in his coaching career,” said CollegeInsider.com’s Angela Lento. “Gene Smith’s decision to hire Holtmann is one of the best moves by an Athletic Director in recent memory. Chris Holtmann is one of the top five coaches in college basketball.”
Holtmann guided the Buckeyes to a 9-0 start in league play, the most wins to open a first season in the Big Ten by a coach since 1923, a 95-year span. Included in the opening league win streak was a victory over No. 1 Michigan State in Columbus. Later in the season the Buckeyes beat No. 3 Purdue, handing the Boilermakers their lone home loss of the season. 

Ohio State finished 15-3 record in conference play and Holtmann was rewarded with Big Ten Coach of the Year honors..

The Jim Phelan award is presented annually to the top coach in division I men's basketball. Phelan led the Mountaineers to the 1962 NCAA Men's Division II Basketball Championship. When he retired in 2003, after coaching for 49 years, he had amassed 830 wins (overall record of 830-524) in all divisions. In those 49 years, 19 of his teams amassed 20 or more wins in a season.


Rick Barnes, Tennessee
Chris Beard, Texas Tech
Randy Bennett, Saint Mary's
Tony Bennett, Virginia
Mick Cronin, Cincinnati
Kermit Davis, Middle Tennessee
Mark Few, Gonzaga
Chris Holtmann, Ohio State
Chris Mack, Xavier
Bob Marlin, Louisiana
Porter Moser, Loyola Chicago
Eric Musselman, Nevada
Kelvin Sampson, Houston
Rick Stansbury, Western Kentucky
Jay Wright, Villanova

Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.