About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2013 Jim Phelan Award

Oregon's Dana Altman is the recipient of the 2013 Jim Phelan award. The award is presented annually to the top division I coach.

April 5


ATLANTA, GA -- Oregon's Dana Altman is the recipient of the 2013 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award.

"Dana Altman took an Oregon team that most people thought was average and led them to the top of the PAC-12 and a spot in the Sweet 16," said CollegeInsider.com co-founder Angela Lento. "Dana isn't a good coach. He's a great coach."

The Jim Phelan Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I coach. The award is named in honor of Jim Phelan who coached his entire career at Mount Saint Mary's University. He led the Mountaineers to the 1962 NCAA Men's Division II Basketball Championship.

When he retired in 2003, after coaching for 49 years, he amassed 830 wins (overall record of 830-524) in over 1,300 games in all divisions. In those 49 years, 19 of his teams amassed 20 or more wins in a season.


Dana Altman Oregon
John Beilein Michigan
Mike Brey Notre Dame
Rick Byrd Belmont
Jim Crews Saint Louis
Keith Dambrot Akron
Kermit Davis Middle Tennessee
Billy Donovan Florida
Anthony Evans Norfolk State
Mark Few Gonzaga
Travis Ford Oklahoma State
Ben Howland UCLA
Jim Larranaga Miami
Rick Pitino Louisville
Bo Ryan Wisconsin
Bill Self Kansas
John Thompson III Georgetown
Bruce Weber Kansas State
Buzz Williams Marquette
Jay Wright Villanova


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.