About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2017 Jim Phelan Award

April 3, 2017


PHOENIX, AZ -- South Carolina’s Frank Martin is the recipient of the 2017 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award.

Martin led South Carolina to 26 wins and the school’s first-ever appearance in the Final Four. It was the Gamecocks first appearance in the NCAA Tournament since 2004 and the 26 wins are the most in the program’s 109 seasons. He tied the program record with 25 wins last season.

“Frank Martin is a winner,” said CollegeInsider.com’s Angela Lento. “It should come as no surprise that he led South Carolina to the best season in school history. He’s one of the best coaches in the country.”

The Gamecocks posted 11 RPI top 100 wins during the regular season and spent nine weeks ranked in the Associated Press' Top 25 Poll.

The Jim Phelan award is presented annually to the top coach in division I men's basketball. Phelan led the Mountaineers to the 1962 NCAA Men's Division II Basketball Championship. When he retired in 2003, after coaching for 49 years, he had amassed 830 wins (overall record of 830-524) in all divisions. In those 49 years, 19 of his teams amassed 20 or more wins in a season.


Steve Alford UCLA
Dana Altman Oregon
Rod Barnes CSU Bakersfield
John Becker Vermont
John Calipari Kentucky
Chris Collins Northwestern
Kermit Davis Middle Tennessee
Johnny Dawkins UCF
Jamie Dixon TCU
Mark Few Gonzaga
Mitch Henderson Princeton
Chris Holtmann Butler
Kevin Keatts UNC Wilmington
Frank Martin South Carolina
Matt Painter Purdue
Josh Pastner Georgia Tech
Richard Pitino Minnesota
Bill Self Kansas
Mike White Florida
Roy Williams North Carolina


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.