About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us


2015 Jim Phelan Award

West Virginia's Bob Huggins accepts the 2015 Jim Phelan award at the CollegeInsider.com Award's Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis.

April 3, 2015


INDIANAPOLIS, IN -- West Virginia's Bob Huggins is the recipient of the 2015 Jim Phelan National Coach of the Year award. The award is presented annually to the top coach in division I men's basketball. 

The award is named in honor of Jim Phelan who coached his entire career at Mount Saint Mary's University. He led the Mountaineers to the 1962 NCAA Men's Division II Basketball Championship.

When he retired in 2003, after coaching for 49 years, he amassed 830 wins (overall record of 830-524) in over 1,300 games in all divisions. In those 49 years, 19 of his teams amassed 20 or more wins in a season.


Dana Altman Oregon
Tony Bennett Virginia
Mike Brey Notre Dame
John Calipari Kentucky
Jim Engles NJIT
Mark Few Gonzaga
Chris Holtmann Butler
Bob Huggins West Virginia
Larry Krystkowiak Utah
Gregg Marshall Wichita State
Bob McKillop Davidson
Archie Miller Dayton
Sean Miller Arizona
Bo Ryan Wisconsin
Mark Turgeon Maryland
Jay Wright Villanova







Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
More Honors
All-Conference Honors
All-Decade Team
Mid-Major All Decade
Copyright © 2015 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.